Southern Berkshire Technology Committee Bringing Broadband to Life
  • About the SBTC

    The Southern Berkshire Technology Committee is comprised of representatives from 11 South Berkshire towns: Alford, Becket, Great Barrington, Egremont, Monterey, Mount Washington, New Marlborough, Otis, Sandisfield, Sheffield, and Tyringham. The group’s mission is to facilitate the deployment of modern broadband infrastructure and services to the rural communities of the region. The members of the Committee represent a cross-section of our communities: technology experts, professionals, educators, small business owners, retirees, parents, and concerned citizens.

    Numerous studies have demonstrated positive linkages between broadband availability and economic indicators – including rates of business formation, job growth and property values. “Broadband is an essential resource in today’s world and economy,“ said Governor Deval Patrick, in August of 2008, as he signed into law “An Act Establishing and Funding the Massachusetts Broadband Institute” – legislation that leverages public and private resources to make high-speed Internet available in the state’s 32 communities that currently lack any access to broadband.

    The SBTC is working with the Commonwealth on broadband deployment, in addition to other Berkshire County organizations and broadband groups in neighboring counties, potential providers, and network engineers to ensure a plan is developed and deployed that serves the best interests of our citizens, businesses and students. This includes the expectation that the Berkshires broadband deployment will primarily consist of next-generation, scalable, future-proof technology based on fiber-optic cable.

    Chair: Monica Webb
    Vice-Chair: Tim Newman
    Secretary: Robert Lichter

    Town Representatives/Alternates:
    Alford: Robert Lichter
    Becket: N/A
    Egremont: N/A
    Great Barrington: Bob O’Haver
    Monterey: Monica Webb/Michael Storch
    Mount Washington: Jim Lovejoy
    New Marlborough: Tim Newman
    Otis: Robert Rocke
    Sandisfield: John Burrows/Jean Atwater-Williams
    Sheffiled: Paul O’Brien
    Tyringham: Holly Ketron

    No Comments